Jungchemiker - lecture series Chemistry a_side
Chemistry in medical research

Speaker:
Prof. Dietmar Fuchs

On Tuesday 22.11.2016 the talk "Chemistry in the medical research" was held at the Center of Chemistry and Biochemmedicine in Innsbruck. Professor Dietmar Fuchs from the division of Biological Chemistry, Medical University of Innsbruck gave some insight into his fascinating research.

 Prof. Dietmar Fuchs from the division of Biological Chemistry, Medical University of Innsbruck

Professor Fuchs studied chemistry at the University of Innsbruck and finished his PhD in 1980. After working as an Assistant Professor at the Institute for Medical Chemistry and Biochemistry in Innsbruck he habilitated in 1986. Focus of his research lay on neopterin, a substance build during the cellular immune reaction. Based on his achievements, developement of one of the first HIV-tests was possible.

Many students follow the interesting talk

The speech took us from the pigment of a butterfly, the pteridin, via the early years of neopterin research to the correlations of neopterin concentration and tryptophan degradation in the medical diagnosis. Afterwards a buffet offered an opportunity for a private conversation.

Buffet after the presentation

Join the GÖCH
Jungchemiker Newsletter
Calendar
April 26th 2019

Dr. Christian Gründling, Speaker of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber, teaches you during this workshop the necessary basic skills about chemical legislation.

May 15th 2019

Prof. Michael Ramek gives an overview over colour blindness and how colour blindness can become an issue for affected persons when dealing with new media.

May 21st 2019

To provide an opportunity to explore chemistry outside of the classroom the Jungchemiker Innsbruck organize a series of lectures aimed at pupils.

May 21st 2019

You want to work in the industry after doing your thesis? Then you cannot afford to miss the excursion to chemisch-technische Umweltschutzanstalt and Biocrates organzied by the Regionalvertretung Jungchemiker Innsbruck.

Jungchemiker - Vortragsreihe Chemistry a_side
Chemie in der medizinischen Forschung

Vortragender:
Prof. Dietmar Fuchs

Am Dienstag, den 22.11.2016 fand im Centrum für Chemie und Biomedizin in Innsbruck der Vortrag "Chemie in der medizinischen Forschung" statt. Professor Dietmar Fuchs von der Abteilung Biologische Chemie der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck gab Einblicke in seine faszinierende Forschung.

Prof. Dietmar Fuchs von der Abteilung Biologische Chemie der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck

Prof. Fuchs studierte Chemie an der Universität Innsbruck und promovierte im Jahr 1980. Nachdem er als Assistenzprofessor am Institut für Medizinische Chemie und Biochemie in Innsbruck gearbeitet hatte, habilitierte er im Jahr 1986. Der Fokus seiner Forschung liegt auf Neopterin, einer Substanz, die während der zellulären Immunreaktion gebildet wird. Auf seinen Errungenschaften aufbauend wurde die Entwicklung von einem der ersten HIV-Tests erst möglich.

Prof. Dietmar Fuchs präsentiert vor interessiertem Publikum

Der Vortrag führte vom Pigment eines Schmetterlings, dem Pteridin, über die anfänglichen Jahre der Forschung zu Neopterin bis hin zum Zusammenhang von Neopterin-Konzentration und Tryptophan-Abbau in der medizinischen Diagnostik. Das anschließende Buffet bot die Möglichkeit zu einem persönlichen Gespräch mit dem Vortragenden.

Buffet nach dem Vortrag

GÖCH Beitritt
Jungchemiker-Newsletter
Kalender
20.11.2019

Klaus Kremsmayr wird uns einen kurzen Einblick gewähren in die Welt des Met und Bier brauens. Dabei kann er auf einen langen Erfahrungsschatz als Betreiber des Steyrer Bräus zurück greifen.

25.11.2019

Klaus Kremsmayr wird uns einen kurzen Einblick gewähren in die Welt des Met und Bier brauens. Dabei kann er auf einen langen Erfahrungsschatz als Betreiber des Steyrer Bräus zurückgreifen.

11.12.2019

Die Jungchemiker Linz laden herzlich zu Punsch und Feuerzangenbowle ein. Kekse sowie eine Filmvorführung sorgen hier für die optimale Abwechslung zum Uni-Alltag. Wir freuen uns auf euer kommen und wünschen euch ein frohes Fest

21. - 23.09.2020

Dieses Datum könnt ihr euch bereits vormerken, denn da findet unsere erste Konferenz in Innsbruck statt!