Jungchemiker - lecture series Talking Business
EURAC - Research and Career

Speaker:
Dr. Stephan Ortner

Dr. Stephan Ortner studied biology at the LFU Innsbruck and music at the Musikhochschule Innsbruck. Already in 1990 he started his first collaboration with the European Academy of Bozen/Bolzano (EURAC), in detail with the Institute of Alpine Environment. He dealt with his main research focus on the Alps and the Alpine convention also during his work as scientific collaborator of CIPRA (Commission Internationale pour la Protection des Alpes) in Munich. In 1992 Ortner became managing director of CIPRA Germany and as such he was in charge of establishing the Alpenforschungsinstitut in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The newly-created institute was led by Ortner until 1996 when he became director of the EURAC in Bozen/Bolzano.

Dr. Stephan Ortner, director of the EURAC in Bozen

The EURAC in Bozen is a private research centre. With some of its institutes covering natural sciences (centre for biomedicine, institute for renewable energy) it is an interesting future employer also for chemistry students. Dr. Ortner explained that they will find even more job offers at the EURAC in the near future because of additional capacities and joint projects (e. g. Innovation Parc of Bozen). His talk held on May 10th 2016 at the Centre of Chemistry and Biomedicine in Innsbruck offered rare insights into the practical and structural settings in a private research centre.

Dr. Stephan Ortner präsentiert die Einstiegschancen für junge Forschende in die EURAC

As expected from a talk of our "Talking Business" series Dr. Ortner gave a lot of information about career opportunities at the EURAC. He explained how to apply for a research position at the centre and pointed out that a remarkably high number of younger researchers are part of the staff. Special PhD programmes contribute to this fact, where students from over 20 partner universities acquire research results for their doctoral theses at the EURAC.

Further information about the research centre, its research areas and career opportunities can be found on the web page of the institution: www.eurac.edu.

Join the GÖCH
Jungchemiker Newsletter
Calendar
April 26th 2019

Dr. Christian Gründling, Speaker of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber, teaches you during this workshop the necessary basic skills about chemical legislation.

May 15th 2019

Prof. Michael Ramek gives an overview over colour blindness and how colour blindness can become an issue for affected persons when dealing with new media.

May 21st 2019

To provide an opportunity to explore chemistry outside of the classroom the Jungchemiker Innsbruck organize a series of lectures aimed at pupils.

May 21st 2019

You want to work in the industry after doing your thesis? Then you cannot afford to miss the excursion to chemisch-technische Umweltschutzanstalt and Biocrates organzied by the Regionalvertretung Jungchemiker Innsbruck.

Jungchemiker - Vortragsreihe Talking Business
Die EURAC - Forschungsschwerpunkte und Karrierechancen

Vortragender:
Dr. Stephan Ortner

Dr. Stephan Ortner studierte Biologie an der LFU Innsbruck und Musik an der Musikhochschule Innsbruck. Bereits 1990 startete er seine erste Kooperation mit der Europäischen Akademie Bozen (EURAC), genauer mit dem Institut für Alpine Umwelt. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt Alpen und Alpenkonvention beschäftigte ihn auch während seiner Tätigkeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei CIPRA (Commission Internationale pour la Protection des Alpes) in München. 1992 stieg Ortner zum Geschäftsführer von CIPRA Deutschland auf und war als solcher federführend für die Einrichtung des Alpenforschungsinstituts in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Diesem stand er als Geschäftsführer vor, bis er 1996 seine aktuelle Beschäftigung als Direktor der EURAC in Bozen antrat.

Dr. Stephan Ortner, Direktor der EURAC in Bozen

Die EURAC in Bozen ist ein privates Forschungszentrum. Als solches ist es aufgrund seiner naturwissenschaftlichen Institute (Zentrum für Biomedizin, Institut für Erneuerbare Energien) auch für angehende Chemiker_innen ein interessanter Arbeitgeber, zumal Dr. Ortner erklärte, dass das Zentrum in der nahen Zukunft zusätzliche Kompetenzen und Kooperationen (z. B. Technologiepark Bozen) übernehmen wird. Der nicht alltägliche Einblick in die Arbeit in einem privaten Forschungszentrum und in die Strukturen eines solchen führte beim Publikum zu einem hohen Interesse am Vortrag, der am 10.05.2016 im Centrum für Chemie und Biomedizin in Innsbruck stattfand.

Dr. Stephan Ortner präsentiert die Einstiegschancen für junge Forschende in die EURAC

Charakteristisch für einen Vortrag aus der Reihe "Talking Business" waren die zahlreichen Informationen zu den Karrierechancen im Forschungszentrum. Dr. Ortner stellte die Möglichkeiten vor, eine Anstellung als Forscher_in in der EURAC zu bekommen und wies speziell darauf hin, dass im Forschungszentrum sehr viele junge Mitarbeiter_innen tätig sind. Dies wird durch PhD-Programme zusätzlich verstärkt, bei denen Studierende von über 20 Partneruniversitäten die Forschungsergebnisse für ihre Doktorarbeiten an der EURAC erarbeiten.

Zahlreiche weitere Informationen zur EURAC, zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten und den Karrierechancen am Forschnugszentrum finden sich auf der Internetseite der Institution: www.eurac.edu.

GÖCH Beitritt
Jungchemiker-Newsletter
Kalender
25.11.2019

Klaus Kremsmayr wird uns einen kurzen Einblick gewähren in die Welt des Met und Bier brauens. Dabei kann er auf einen langen Erfahrungsschatz als Betreiber des Steyrer Bräus zurückgreifen.

11.12.2019

Die Jungchemiker Linz laden herzlich zu Punsch und Feuerzangenbowle ein. Kekse sowie eine Filmvorführung sorgen hier für die optimale Abwechslung zum Uni-Alltag. Wir freuen uns auf euer kommen und wünschen euch ein frohes Fest